Diamond Education

What To Know Before Making a Diamond Purchase

The 4Cs of a Diamond

Purchasing a diamond is not something to be taken lightly, luckily there are standards to ease your decision making so you get exactly what you want. It is important to understand the 4Cs of diamond quality which are, carat weight, color grade, clarity grade, and cut grade. These characteristics are vital to every diamond purchase.

The 4 C's of a diamond

About the 4Cs

Diamond Color Grade

Color refers to the lack of color in the diamond. A higher grade means less color in the diamond.

Diamond Clarity Grade

Clarity means how clear the diamond is. A higher grade means less imperfections are in the diamond.

Diamond Cut Grade

Cut refers to how the diamond was cut. The better the grade, the more sparkle the diamond has.

Diamond Carat Weight
Carat Weight

Carat weight means the weight of the diamond. The heavier the diamond, the more valuable it is.

Diamond Shape & Certification

Diamond Carat Weight

Diamonds come in a wide array of shapes. The shape of your diamond is taken into consideration when it comes to value. Typically when looking at similar graded diamonds, round diamonds are the most desirable so they are valued higher. Diamond shape is not only about value but also about personal preference. Diamonds come in many shapes including, princess, emerald, Asscher, cushion, marquise, radiant, oval, pear, and heart.

Diamond Certification

Diamond certifications are vital, they allow you to know the exact grade and specifications of your stone. It is important that you receive an unbiased diamond grading report from a third party company. We use the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) to analyze and grade our diamonds. GIA is the most reputable and accurate diamond grading institution in the industry. We also offer written appraisals as per buyer request.